Author Topic: Suggestions on '96 600 S naked conversion?  (Read 3597 times)

Offline vconn

• First Post! Be Gentle!
Suggestions on '96 600 S naked conversion?
« on: April 04, 2006, 09:03:27 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm a newly registered member even though I've been browsing since I got my bike two years ago. Here's why I'm posting. I'm interested in doing a naked conversion, but I've got no freakin' idea what to do? Is there a place to buy kits or do all you handypeople do these things yourselves with nothing but spit and blood? (some of the old pages I remember seeing info on are closed now) Anywho, I'm sorry if this is a repeat "well duh" post.

Like I've said, I've got a '96 600 S w/ the stock fairing. I don't know the paint color name... it's a dark green with a seemingly gold metal fleck.

Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated! I just finished a hardcore tuneup (the previous owner left it outside for a few years =*( that bastard... but I got it at a great price!) and I'm begging to let it rip this spring.

Vince
PS- Anyone have suggestions on tires that they like?

Offline KSUGreggy

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2006, 12:17:48 AM »
aztec8.com i hear has a good kit

Offline Doch80

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2006, 02:10:11 AM »
I have a 2nd Gen so it's a little different, but the kits are all the same.  I broke down and bought a kit from http://www.streetfightersbydesign.com/streetweb/banditmania_page/banditmania_pg.htm.  They're a little pricey but after waiting so long I just decided to drop the cash.  You can find other parts to substitute such as the brackets that are much much cheaper.  I have the 4.5'' lights and I'm pretty sure you can find those cheaper as well.  The smaller kit doesn't come with a wiring kit (sometimes) since it doesn't need one so you have to do all the wiring yourself which isn't that hard with the help of some guys on this board.  Several of us have done it already.