Author Topic: question on contisport attack tires..  (Read 2944 times)

Offline ghostinhere13

• Board Regular!
question on contisport attack tires..
« on: May 24, 2007, 10:49:28 PM »
i've had the front mounted for about 5000 miles now. no problems there. just recently purchased the matching rear tire (the shop didn't have a matching set when i bought the front)
my question is about the direction of the tread. the arrows are both pointing the same way on the sidewall, indicating that the tire is (what i believe) spinning in the correct direction, however the patterns on the tread are clearly opposite of each other.. is this something continental did intentionally or did someone mount one of my tires incorrectly? i couldn't find a photo of a set mounted for comparison, so i figured this was the best place to check.. i'm still new to the motorcycle world :duh:

Offline okbandit

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2007, 10:13:54 AM »
For whatever reason, the reversing tread thing is pretty common.  My Conti's are the same as you describe.
2001 B12-HS stage II, HS full exhaust, Gsxr cam

Offline pmackie

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 12:25:25 PM »
It's not uncommon for the tread on the rear to be a reverse mirror of the tread on the front. Usually this is done due to the differing loads on the tires. On the front, you are mostly concerned with how the tire performs under braking, with the rear, under acceleration. The tire flexs the leading and trailing edge of the tread blocks differently, leading to "cupping" or "scalloping".

I can't speak for Conti, but I surmise that they have likely played with the pattern to maximize water dispersement, while keep cupping to a minimum.
Paul
2002-GSF600S, Progressive Fork Springs, B12 Shock,
SS Brake lines, EBC HH pads, Leo Vince Ex & Kappa bags.
Ex Bike Mechanic (late 70's), somewhat rusty
32 years in the Fuel/lubes industry(Retired)

Offline Red01