Author Topic: I Finally Did It  (Read 3261 times)

Offline dgm0967

• Site Supporters
  • TURBO TYPER!
I Finally Did It
« on: July 16, 2007, 08:58:58 PM »
I bought my bike with a D&D exhaust (slip-on)and unknown jetting. Yesterday I finally took took the carbs off and it's my first time doing carbs. I didn't know the jetting and wanted to adjust the float bowls and  Air mixture screws. The float bowls and air mixture screws were not even close between the carbs. So I went with the following set-up.
150 mains(already in)
Shimmed pilots (already done)
Float bowls set to 150mm
Air mixture screws out 3 turns
Airbox cover removed(already done)
Holeshot 5 degree advancer (was already in)

While I had it apart I changed sparkplugs and the airfilter. It made a big difference in low and midrange and didn't lose anything high end, according to my seat dyno. It just runs smoother thru all RPM's. I still need to do the sync.

It still seems to bog or hesitate a little when I crack the throttle at any RPM. Is this normal?
1999 Bandit S1200 BLACK

Offline longislandbandit99

• Board Homesteader!
I Finally Did It
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 10:13:26 PM »
I would think the throttle response should be crisp and smooth.

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
I Finally Did It
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 02:00:25 PM »
A hesitation would be normal if you're asking more with your wrist than vacuum will allow the slides to move. Also, whacking the throttle to the stop from low rpm in a too tall of a gearbox selection will cause a boggy feeling.

:btw: I sure hope those floats are set at 15mm, I don't think there's room in the float bowls to set them to 150mm. :wink:
(14.7mm is the recommended setting for most 1G B12's)
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline stormi

• Administrator
  • Board Homesteader!
  • BOFH
    • stormi's other hobbies
I Finally Did It
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2007, 03:58:41 PM »