Author Topic: Mechanical help please - valve cover - diagram added  (Read 5778 times)

Offline SP-Dee

• Board Regular!
Mechanical help please - valve cover - diagram added
« on: August 07, 2008, 09:59:28 PM »
Hello all!

Let me start off by saying I am not a mechanical person.  I'm slowly learning about all the little bits & pieces of my bike.

I took my 02 Bandit 1200S in for servicing, oil change, valve adjustment, and a few other things. When I talked to the shop foreman today he informed me that there was a serious problem with the bike. What I was told was that when the tech went to take off the valve cover he found that all the bolts had been stripped and replaced with heli-coils. After reading about those tonight for the first time I suppose this isn't anything to be concerned about. However he also informed me that the valve cover had been cracked and epoxied together underneath. They discovered the epoxy fix when the tech went to tighten the bolts when replacing the valve cover and the whole thing cracked apart along the original break.

So here are my questions for the more mechanically inclined riders:
1. Is it common for valve covers to crack and is it standard practice to just epoxy it together or just a cheap home garage fix to hide it?

2. My mechanic contacted Suzuki dealers around the city looking for the part but Suzuki claims it is not sold individually anymore. True or not? I've been to BikeBandit.com to look at OEM parts but cannot find what it is, I don't even know what the frickin' thing looks like.

3. What would replacing the whole cylinder head do for me in terms of bike longevity. I have a call into a used parts place here to see what they have but I'm not feeling very positive about it. I adore this bike and want it for a very long time, i have no desire to up or downgrade. The mechanic also let me know that the cam chain? was getting wore down some of the cylinder parts were starting to pit slightly. I'm not sure which parts though.