Author Topic: What are the restrictions on new motorcycle riders...  (Read 4312 times)

Offline PeteSC

• Board Homesteader!
    • SouthChinaLady
What are the restrictions on new motorcycle riders...
« on: March 31, 2005, 06:11:31 AM »
where you live?

We don't have as many restrictions on new riders in the US, as you have in other countries.  
   What do you have to do to get a license where you live?
Spartanburg, SC
'99 Bandit 1200
'03 DR650
I'm really a very hot, sexy,lesbian, trapped in this fat, middle-aged, male body......

Offline PeteSC

• Board Homesteader!
    • SouthChinaLady
SC
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 06:18:58 AM »
I had to look it up, since I've guessed there were a lot of changes since I started riding in this state!

When I started riding, you could operate a motorcycle of 5 BRAKE hp or less, 24 hours a day, at the age of 15, with a beginners permit.
  (They didn't have motorcycle licenses then.)
   The HP restrictions weren't enforced, and I knew at least one 15 year old with a Kaw 500 triple at the ripe old age of 15!

I checked to see what had changed in 35 years....and here is some of it.

Class M - Motorcycle Beginner's Permit
A motorcycle beginner's permit allows you to practice driving a motorcycle or motor scooter while an experienced licensed driver supervises you.

To get a Class M Beginner's Permit:

You must be at least 15 years old.
You must bring your birth certificate, social security card, proof of residency and insurance information.
If you are under 18 years of age, you must bring your parent or legal guardian with to sign your application.
You must pass the vision and knowledge tests.
Restrictions:

You may drive a motorcycle or motor scooter from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. (or 8 p.m. during daylight savings time).
You may not operate a motorcycle or motor scooter at any other time unless a licensed parent or guardian supervises you.
You must have your beginner's permit for 180 days before you can apply for a motorcycle license.