Author Topic: Bandit wont idle... lags... -1991 400cc  (Read 8954 times)

Offline halamadrid

• Board Regular!
Bandit wont idle... lags... -1991 400cc
« on: May 03, 2010, 04:20:48 PM »
Hey everybody Im really excited that I found this forum.  This is my first post, it will be a long one but I should introduce myself. I am 18, I have been riding a scooter for 2 years and I did basic maintenance on that and then early February I bought a 1991 bandit 400cc.

When I bought it it was running what seemed fine to me and my uncle made note that it sounded like the carbs needed to be cleaned and it all made good sense. (it had sat all winter in a farm guys garage). So I took it home and he showed me how to work on it and I caught on very quickly. We cleaned the carbs lightly, not thoroughly, and it didnt do much to help it run. When trying to run it we noticed that we couldnt get it to idle without stalling and that it lagged a lot. At times it was slightly responsive and others it wasnt.