Author Topic: bandit pains  (Read 2311 times)

Offline rolandogval

• New user!
bandit pains
« on: September 06, 2005, 11:38:45 PM »
so the bandit's in the shop, finally being put into working order, getting the carbs cleaned...finally it seems to be working. when i go to pick it up, however, the $400 carb job has potentially turned into a $900 job. seems the head gasket needs replacing. While i don't recall seeing clouds of coolant coming from the exhaust, the mechanic says i'll need to have him replace it (for potentially more than the total worth the bike!) i mean, in an ideal world, i'd happily spend the money to repair the gasket on this great bike. in this world though, i'm a grad student in debt way past his eyeballs...and nine hundred clams is a few too many.

that being said,

i'd like to put forth three questions to the experience of the board:

has anyone ever tried using head gasket sealer?

if i'm intimidated by the carbs, will replacing the head gasket seem like brain surgery?

is $500 too much for a gasket and labor?

thanks guys
-rolando

ps- will the engine explode if i do the ol' ostrich-with-the-head-in-the-sand, ignore the mechanic and drive this thing across a couple of states?
in vinum, veritas

Offline Maniac

• Board Homesteader!
    • http://www.bikepics.com/members/plan9/93bandit400/
bandit pains
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 11:55:01 PM »
How did he find the gasket?

Was it showing low compression? If the compression is good and your not getting water in the oil or oil in the water, and coolant isn't disappearing into thin air, I don't think you'd need a new head gasket.

2008 GSXR-750

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Re: bandit pains
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2005, 02:57:42 AM »
Quote from: "rolandogval"
i'd like to put forth three questions to the experience of the board:

has anyone ever tried using head gasket sealer?