Author Topic: Deristriction  (Read 4013 times)

Offline UKbandit

• Board Regular!
Deristriction
« on: March 20, 2005, 03:24:20 PM »
Hi People

First of all I have read some of the FAQ's and I can tell you that I am an electronics engineer. However, I didn't feel that I could answer any of the electronics questions because I haven't seen the electronics fitted to the bike (in particular the questions about the CDi unit).
I did notice that one comment was that maybe the capacitors needed time to charge. This would happen very quickly (milliseconds) and would definitely not take several minutes as was implied by the post.

Now for my question. I have only just acquired a 1991 250 Bandit (GJ74A) which I believe was imported from Belgium. I also believe that it is restricted for the Japanese market where it would have been originally intended for sale. First of all, what sort of performance should I expect from this machine? In other words, how can I tell if it is restricted? If it is restricted, how can I derestrict it? It does seem to be quite quick when warmed up but it struggles to reach a ton. I would expect that the bike would exceed a hundred miles an hour with some ease.

Thanks in advance

UKbandit

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Deristriction
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2005, 07:08:35 AM »
Other than a few SE Asian countries, the B250 is/was pretty much a Japan only bike. I know Indonesia got new B250's, don't know if anywhere else did. (And in Indonesia, a 250 is a BIG bike... unless you're real rich and can afford a GSXR750 that costs about 3-4X it's USA price.)

I didn't think the Japanese required 250 4-strokes to be restricted to any specific level, but if they did, I would doubt there's any simple way to change its output, other than standard hot-rodding methods. It's state of tune is just the way it would have been built since this bike didn't have a new market to speak of outside of Japan.
Paul
2001 GSF1200S