Author Topic: Steering Damper for B4?  (Read 4203 times)

Offline hangin_biposto

• TURBO TYPER!
Steering Damper for B4?
« on: January 09, 2008, 10:47:23 AM »
I did a quick search here but came up with limited information.

I live in an area where the roads are very rough in places, with lots of potholes and road crown. I am slightly nervous about this, and wonder if a steering damper would be a good idea for me. I think it would give me some added confidence when I start riding.

My BF (Turbodude) doesn't think I need one. He has one on his Ducati Monster but says it doesn't make much of a difference.

The difference to me is he has been riding for a while, and knows how to negotiate rough areas whereas I will be a total noob, trying to learn the basics while dealing with crummy roads.

Many people from the Monster list say they would never go back after having one, especially those who ride in a more spirited manner.

Does the B4 suffer from head shake and tank slap in rough situations when unassisted by a damper?

Would it be a good investment for a noob?

What are my options and fitment challenges, should I decide to go ahead and get one?

Thanks,

Meagan

Offline Herr Tod

• Board Homesteader!
Re: Steering Damper for B4?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 11:53:08 AM »
I go offroad with my Bandit, no need for a steering damper. Head shakes caused by bumps always stop after a second. Head shakes caused by lots of horses on the rear wheel are a whole different story and the Bandit does not have the horsepower to be able to do that. Just ride :motorsmile:

Offline Banditmax

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 11:53:54 AM »