Author Topic: *Sniff* Do you smell gas?  (Read 4068 times)

Offline ttewejnodnarb

• Board Homesteader!
*Sniff* Do you smell gas?
« on: December 02, 2005, 06:28:28 PM »
There seems to be a strong smell of gas coming from the carb area of my bike...alot more than I remember from my Duc 620.  :shock:  

From what I gather the following will indicate a rich condition.

Here are some points:

1)Bike smells of gas at a stop when warm.

2)Plugs I pulled last where black at the tips.

3)Black (very?) exhaust inside tip.

4)Pops and "gargles" a little on decel and with small constant throttle input.

5)Lower than average MPG

However:

1)Idel is pretty smooth.

2)Starts up with no fuss (full choke)

3)Runs like a bat-out-of-hell

4)No bogging, no lunging, no off idel stutter

I'm a novice and slowy building my mechanical knowledge of the machine.  I've done all minor maintenance but before I screw with the, well, screws(a/f) I'd love to get some input.  I don't want to make things worse! :duh:

Little history:  98 B12, 30K, holeshot full exhaust (headers back...I know they are aftermarket and I am assuming they are dale's), holeshot can, SII jet kit w/ K&N pods, GSXR cams (in & out) and I think a 5 deg advance.  Former owner was a mechanic and the bike is in great shape...runs very well except for the aforementioned problem.

You have all been very helpful before and I'd like to thank all in advance!
 :beers:
Brandon
98 B12S

Offline solman

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2005, 11:54:08 PM »
If the plugs are black, that would tell me that you are running a bit rich.  Me personally I can't use my choke.  If I do, it seems to screw up my plugs and then the bike runs bad for a bit.
03 Naked Bandit 1200 <br />Vitamin B12, its great for the soul!

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2005, 05:34:53 AM »
How long has it been since the pod filters were cleaned?
If they're dirty, that'll make it run rich.
Paul