Author Topic: Pilot Mixture Settings  (Read 13094 times)

Offline optimaldave

• Everybody
  • Board Regular!
Pilot Mixture Settings
« on: July 20, 2011, 04:01:08 PM »
Hello All,

I recently got a 97 bandit 1200 which had been sitting for a while and wouldn't run right. So I pulled the carbs and a suzuki tech I know cleaned them out for me but he forgot to count the rotations for the pilot screws... Mods consist of K&N filter, hindle silencer and mid. If anyone has this setup can you tell me where you ended up for rotations of the pilot screws? I set them at three and it is popping but more sounds like it is popping rich (almost like a gurgling) then a "backfire" of lean popping. But I am only an apprentice so my ears are by no means good at determining these things.
This bike was jetted properly before (113 mains, not sure of the pilots) so it is just the pilot screw that I need to setup. I have heard that 2.25 is stock, and some people on a stage two are out at 4+ so I am really not sure if I am likely rich or lean...

Cheers
Dave

Offline rider123

• Board Homesteader!
Re: Pilot Mixture Settings
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 05:42:43 PM »
I don't know if this helps but Fastlarry Bandit FAQ says from 2 to 3 for stock setup and 2.5 to 3.25 for a stage 1 with a 2" hole. Sorry I got a 2G Bandit. You could always start out a 2.25 and do a 1/4 of a turn out at a time and see if that gets you there. I assuming from the strange jet size 113, your airbox is closed up and your using the factory hole, with no extra holes drilled in there.