Author Topic: Oil Leak from PAIR removale?  (Read 6445 times)

Offline Breach

• New user!
Oil Leak from PAIR removale?
« on: March 28, 2005, 11:04:44 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the sight but it looks like you may be able to help. Over the winter I installed a holeshot stage 2 jet kit into my GSF1200S, adjusted the valves this weekend, re-assembled and fired her up. My question is it looks like I am leaking oil from the Holeshot PAIR removal kit I installed last year. (still too warm for me to try and tighten the nuts).  

I guess my question is, regardless if the nuts are loose or not, should the PAIR be leaking anything but exhaust?  I don't think its because the valves are too loose, I don't get the familiar clacking.  Any ideas????  

Please help its getting warm out ......

Thanks,

Ron R.

Offline terrebandit

• Board Homesteader!
    • Daves Bandit Group
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2005, 11:52:58 PM »
Ron,

Its not your PAIR system thats giving you trouble here.  You must have knocked off one of your spark plug tower gaskets when you reinstalled your valve cover (after your recent valve adjustment).  The oil is coming from a weep hole that is immediately above the pair.  This weep hole is intended to drain water/condensation out of the spark plug wells.  Whats happening is oil pressure is pushing oil out from underneath your valve cover and into the spark plug well(s).  It is then draining out these weep holes at the front of you engine.  No problem.... just pull your valve cover and reseat those gaskets.  You might have to put a little RTV on them to get them to stay in place.  I like to hold the spark plug tower gasket in place with my hand as I move the valve cover it over the cam chain.  Its usually the cam chain that knocks them loose as you move the valve cover back into position.

Dave
My Bandit(s) -click here  >={{{*>
2000 B12S "Good Ole Bob"
____ o7o____o7o ___Ride Safe!

Offline Breach

• New user!
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2005, 11:57:11 PM »
Dave,