Author Topic: Headlights  (Read 10551 times)

Offline maddiesdaddy1

• New user!
Headlights
« on: April 23, 2005, 12:44:31 AM »
I'm new to Sportbikes, so bear with me please. I have a brand new Suzuki Bandit 1200s; Took it to the shop yesterday to have some issues addressed, one of which regarded the headlights. Only one of the two beams are currently functioning while on low beam, and the other kicks in when switched to high beam. The "mechanic" at the bike shop said that this is a feature that is typical in many Honda sportbikes, and may very well be a function on the Bandit as well, but he could not give me an answer. I used to ride a Suzuki Intruder, so I do not know much about all of the available Sportbike Options. Any ideas?

Offline Steve

• Board Homesteader!
Headlights
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2005, 04:18:59 AM »
That's how it works alright. I believe that the headlight is one of the most questionable items on the bike, and probably the only one that I'm really not that happy with.

To improve my visibility to others during the day I usually run on high beam, for improved night visibility I have wired up my turn signals to serve as running lights in front.

To improve my night vision I use silverstar bulbs, a high beam bulb in both locations, and have removed the diffuser from the high beam. While having the light apart I also cleaned the entire housing very well (done this twice already, what a PIA). The result is a nice bright low beam with a good cutoff, and a fairly strong high beam spot light that I focused/aimed to lay just above my low beam pattern.

That is a good as I have been able to get my lighting with the bugeye light. Others have used higher watt bulbs, I choose not to, and some have rewired to allow running both bulbs together. Maybe some will post up.