Author Topic: Help, Advice, and Opinions  (Read 2308 times)

Offline Coopz

• Board Homesteader!
Help, Advice, and Opinions
« on: September 15, 2006, 01:26:27 AM »
Hi everybody.

I need some help. My little Bandit 400 is going to need a new rear tyre soon, but I don't know which one to go for. This is my first big bike, and he first time I have had to buy a tyre for it. I have heard some opinions about different tyres, but can't decide what to get. I'm not looking to shell out a fortune, but I don't want to compromise too much on the quality either. I do quite a it of rain riding, so wet grip is important. I'm still a newbie, so my cornering aint anything spectacular, so I don't think I need super sticky racing tyres. I do quite a lot of riding, and a lot of heavy accelerating and breaking, so I'm looking for tyres with long life.

I have been reccommended the Bridgestone Battlaxe BT020's by my mate, he says they are fantastic. But they seem a bit expensive for me, and i don't think I'd even be able to use the to their full potential. My mate is a maniac and needs super grip 100% of the time, but I think I could manage with something a little less grippy, it it was a little less expensive. I have found a few on the net which catch my eye, but I have no idea if they are any good or not. That's where you guys come in.

I was hoping some people could advise me which ones to go for, if you know if a tyre is good from experience, or if you have heard that they are good.

These are the ones that I have found:

Maxxis M6029: £63.99 + £10 postage
Pirelli Sports Demon: £69.99 + £10 postage
Continental Contiforce: £59.99 + £10 postage
Continental Avenue: £53.99 + 10 postage
Shinko SR-741: £40.80 with free postage (could not find ANY info on these tyres, I hear the 009 is good but cant find any of them)
Bridgestone BT 45 R: £81.30 with free postage

There is a Bridgestone BT020, and that's £95 with free postage.