Author Topic: Bandit neutral light  (Read 11473 times)

Offline jeepbandit

• First Post! Be Gentle!
Bandit neutral light
« on: June 21, 2005, 09:46:59 PM »
Hi eveyone. I'm new to banditalley and hoping someone can help me. I own a 2001 Bandit 1200S and absolutely love it. It does everything well and at a great cost also. The problem is my neutral light. It comes on only occasionally and the kickstand switch is attached to it. So when letting the bike warm up, I can't put the kickstand down unless that green light is on. Even though it is in neutral and the kickstand is down, the bike will shut off. I have narrowed the problem down to a wire that goes into the engine case. Sometimes I pull on the wire a little or push on it to cause the light to come on. But nothing seems consistent. Again any help is appreciated. I would rather have some knowledge for ammunition before I go to a dealer and ask for parts or have them crack the engine open. Thanks.

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Bandit neutral light
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2005, 10:31:46 PM »
If you can't fix the offending wire, you could jump the sidestand switch so the system thinks the stand is always up.

The wire doesn't go into the engine/transmission itself, just into the countershaft cover and then into the neutral safety switch, which can be replaced without major hassle, if need be. Sounds more like you just have a wire that is shorting where it passes thur the cover though, so you should be able to patch that up pretty easy.
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline jesjames9598

• TURBO TYPER!
Bandit neutral light
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2005, 05:55:45 AM »