Author Topic: How to remove the rear wheel??  (Read 16163 times)

Offline icemakk

• Board Homesteader!
    • My web site
How to remove the rear wheel??
« on: July 02, 2009, 03:12:17 PM »
Well my rear tire has finally worn out and its time to replace.
My local dealer charges less for install if I just bring in the tire and rim. I have never done this before so am looking for instructions on how to remove the wheel properly. My search for a thread on this came up empty. Any advice and tips are welcome. I don't want to mess anything up on the bike but its time I popped my wheel removal cherry instead of paying someone to do it.
The bike is a 2008 Bandit 1250

Just did over 20,000 km on the old Michelin Pilot Road 2....okay, okay I really pushed it for the last 2k to get home and should have changed it sooner. Great tire.
Once I thought I was wrong...but I was mistaken.

Offline pawnee

• TURBO TYPER!
Re: How to remove the rear wheel??
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 12:15:13 AM »
Never taken one off a newer Bandit but my '02 is a snap. Putting it back on was the hard thing by yourself, remember "many hands make lite work" or something like that.

1. Put bike on centerstand
2. Remove cotter pin
3. Loosen and remove castle shaped nut
4. Tap then pull axle out
5. You can loosen chain adjustments on both sides
6. Push wheel assembly forward and slip chain to the side off of sprocket, watch where your spacers come from
7. Work wheel out from under rear fender

Do Not apply rear brake after wheel is out!

I do not remove/loosen any brake caliper components. I leave it intact. Just wiggle the wheel out from caliper.

That's how I do it....BTW, my axle goes in from the left side(was right side)I reversed it so it doesn't loosen up when you tighten it back together.

Offline icemakk

• Board Homesteader!
    • My web site
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2009, 12:39:26 AM »
I feel like a total newb. I just pulled out the manual under the seat and it said almost exactly what you said.