Author Topic: Poor idle, can I sync carbs?  (Read 5622 times)

Offline zaphoid42

• TURBO TYPER!
Poor idle, can I sync carbs?
« on: April 05, 2006, 08:45:13 PM »
First I am new to ridding or driving anything with carbs...

Around Sept. Nov. last year I knew the bike was running poor.  It would take a long time to warm up and need the choke on (about 1/4) for the first few min. of a ride.  Without the choke it would stumble comming off idle.  It would also occasionally die when at a light.

New job and new house and so on and so on. So the bike was used very little.  It had stabil in the tank and run for a good 10 min.  Sat un loved untill now.

The bike is a 2002 GSF600.  Stock everything, no adjustments made to the the pilot screws.  7,500 miles.

Took the bike out of the garage.  It started after a few tries and needed a lot of choke just to idle.

Went back into the garage and replaced the fuel and air filters.  Replaced the stock NGK plugs with the same.  Checked the valve clearances.  Found only three tight exhaust valves and re set them.  The old plugs, with all 7,500 miles on them were blacker than I would like.  The ceramic around the center electrode was black to brown, whole thing covered in black carbon.  Not fouled, just not good.

Bike back out of the garage, fires right up and runs OK with the choke on.  After a long time it can idle without choke but sounds nasty.  The number three exhaust pipe is not as hot as the others.  Sounds like its missing at idle.   Open the throttel without the choke and it will die. Took it around the block and when you can get it off idle it pulls like a champ.

Drained the fuel from the carbs and put in "fuel system cleaner"  let things sit over night.

After draining the cleaner, no diffrence.

Can carb sync. be my problem?

Can I sync. with the number three cylinder is doing whatever its doing?

Plugs showed rich, yet need lots of choke just to idle, what gives?
2002 GSF6

Offline CWO4GUNNER

• Site Supporters