Author Topic: The ol' carb cleaning question- 01 Bandit 600  (Read 12418 times)

Offline Airmotive

• Board Homesteader!
The ol' carb cleaning question- 01 Bandit 600
« on: March 07, 2005, 11:14:07 AM »
I've routed around in the old BBS looking for a step-by-step, real-worl experience of cleaning the B600's carbs. No-luck. I do have the Haynes manual, but I always prefer the less-sanitized version you generally get here.

With that in mind, does anyone have a good link that follows someone's experience with this project? If not, expect one here from me in the next couple of weeks.

BTW, I am new to the Bandit. Picked mine up yesterday from a nice guy with a fair price. Looking forward to some healthy discussions here.

Blue Skies,
JJ
Give a man a match, and he'll be warm for a minute, but set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

Offline ray nielsen

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2005, 01:49:29 PM »
I can offer a non-invasive cleaning technique that I've used successfully several times on motorcycles.

Shut off the petcock and drain the carbs with the drain screws on the bottom of the float bowl and retighten when empty.  Then remove the fuel tank for access to the fuel line.  

Pour Techron Fuel System Cleaner into the line, filling the carbs.  You'll need several ounces.  When fuel backs up into the line you're done for a while.  Let the cleaner sit in the carbs for a couple of days, disolving the crud in the pilot and main jets.  

Finally remove the cleaner by draining the carbs again.  Refill the carbs with gas by putting the petcock to PRIME and you're good to go.

Techron makes several types of cleaners. one for fuel injectors, another for fuel systems and maybe others.  I've only had experience with the Fuel System Cleaner.

My local auto parts store, Auto Zone, carries it.  I think most auto part stores do.

Offline tacoman

• Board Homesteader!
carb clean
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2005, 03:06:31 PM »