Author Topic: The Big Bandit tore it up  (Read 5902 times)

Offline smooth operator

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
The Big Bandit tore it up
« on: August 09, 2011, 08:25:56 AM »
  I went to a track day @ Nelson Ledges yesterday,its been awhile since the Bandit had the pleasure. I was a instructor,so it only cost me the gas $ there and back. I took the novist riders, and after doing a session to get them acquainted with the track and the lines I kept loosing one of my students on a YZF6. So I'd pull in the hot pit and wait for him to come back by,and start over. I ended up moving the other to riders up so I could teach him 1 on1. I didn't mind riding around at a slower place (didn't want him over his head) it was like a easy Sunday ride. By the end of the day he picked it up a bit,although not very fast, he got smoother and learned to lean his bike over farther than he ever did before. He had a grin from ear to ear :grin:!
  Toward the end of the day, I would follow him for awhile,give him the thumbs up and go play a bit. Diced it up with a couple of racers who were also instructing. What a blast! People were amazed at what a old man and a GSF1200 could do!One of the guys running the show (Moto Series Track days and Road racing) was in the tower with the flag man. He said watch this guy on the Bandit, and he told him that guy is old enough to be our father!
  Just because you get older,doesn't mean you get slower.
                   :beers: Dan

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Re: The Big Bandit tore it up
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 11:22:49 AM »
 :thumb:  :clap: