Author Topic: Riding gear  (Read 14511 times)

Offline Tundrahog

• Board Homesteader!
Riding gear
« on: April 11, 2005, 09:38:38 PM »
I'm looking for suggetions for a set of riding gear.  Safety is the primary concern, as opposed to looks or weather resistance.  I'm leaning toward textile vs. leather, mostly due to cost.  I'd like the pants to be able to be worn over my jeans, and be able to put on and take off easily (they won't do me any good if they're too big a hassle to put on).

Any suggestions?

:thanks:
Jon

2004 Suzi B12

Offline dsartwell1

• Board Homesteader!
Riding gear
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 09:56:48 PM »
I have a pair of Tourmaster Cortech overpants. Like them alot. Textile with padding in the knees and hips. Real thick material that is water and wind proof. Zippers come all the way up the sides to make on and off easy. Really warm too. I'm good to about 30F for any length of time. Probably could double as snowmobile gear if that helps. Have a JR Atomic textile jacket. Not nearly as warm as the pants but has good padding in the critical areas. Hope this helps.

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Riding gear
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2005, 05:36:26 AM »
You didn't say what your budget is, but I highly recommend the great folks at New Enough.

They carry 11 major brands, have some of the lowest pricing and outstanding service. Be sure to check out the "Closeout" section for even more savings. (Selections can be limited in that section, due to the nature of closeouts, but can be a real score if what you need/like is in the sale bin in your size.)
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline PitterB4

• Administrator
  • Board Homesteader!
Riding gear
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2005, 10:37:28 AM »
The other advantage of New Enough is the real-world descriptions/reviews of all their products.  This includes sizing help for everything they sell.   :bigok:
Rob
Bikeless!