Author Topic: 92' B400 just purchased, problems however  (Read 4345 times)

Offline ktmiswfo

• New user!
92' B400 just purchased, problems however
« on: March 16, 2006, 12:56:29 PM »
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here since I just picked up this bike.  To give you a brief history I went to my local cycle shop and asked them if they had any bikes laying around or something that was abandonded that I could pick up cheap, they said yeah, a 92' bandit.  This bike only had 2000 miles on it.  I told them I would give them 1000 dollars for it, they took it, and I have a bike.  The reason the guy took the bike in there was because the #2 and #4 cylinders don't have good compression, something is wrong there.  1 and 3 work great.  The bike starts and runs, but runs bad because of the lack of compression.  Like I said, it only has 2000 miles on it and has barely been ridden.  I heard that these are notorious for having black box problems, is this true.  What would you do if you were me?  Is the black box the same as the igniter box?  I know you guys can probably help me out.  Thanks.

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2006, 01:27:09 PM »
You'll see it referred to as black box, ignition box, ignitor box and even CDI box (though it is NOT a CDI). Ignition problems with this part are not uncommon, but we have the resources here to deal with it if they become a problem for you.

There's a thread on a big bore kit that you might be interested in since you have low compression in two holes already...  :grin:
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline ktmiswfo

• New user!
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 01:39:58 PM »
so do you think this is my problem, I don't want to mess around too much with the motor, I'm a stock kinda guy.  I just want it to run correctly first.  What would anyone here check first?

Offline PitterB4

• Administrator
  • Board Homesteader!