Author Topic: Cleaning the bike  (Read 4146 times)

Offline Vidrazor

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
Cleaning the bike
« on: August 12, 2005, 01:41:48 PM »
Being as I'm new to all this ( my '400 is my first bike), I need info on cleaning a bike, and this one in particular. :grin: It's been a bit over a month now, and I think it's time to clean this thing down. I've done some research into this, but I'm not completely clear on how to do this properly without screwing anything up.

I don't have a garage or own a house, so I suppose a DIY car wash will be my cleaning location. Do I need to remove stuff like seats, etc (once I get there, of course :grin: ) to clean it down? I know I shouldn't hose down the engine or battery area, but the overall process isn't crystal clear to me.

I think I need to clean the chain and it's surrounding area off first, right? I've read that kerosene is the most ideal substance, WD40 as an alt. Do I soak a rag and wipe or do I dump it right on the chain, then wipe? Is the underside area of the bike game with these cleaners?

My wheels are bare metal, or at least they look that way. Are the wheels bare or are they clear-coated? What are ideal cleaners for the wheels? If they are bare metal (and even if not), what works well for both aluminum and chrome?

As for the overall bike itself, do I spray it with something and then wipe and hose down, or do I hose first, then spary, wipe, and hose again? I've read that cotton wash mitts are the way to go on the body, any other suggestions?

I put a National Cycle F-15 windshield on my '400, what's good for cleaning that? It's getting bugged-out.

I've read that I should start at one end of the bike and work towards the other, is this really necessay, or can I wet/soap the whole thing down in one shot?

I'm sure everyone has their favorite cleaners for the various parts of the bike, all suggestions welcome.