Author Topic: Greg's Bandit 400 Fuel Injection Project...  (Read 130498 times)

Offline crashed9xs

• New user!
Re: Greg's Bandit 400 Fuel Injection Project...
« Reply #15 on: November 26, 2013, 02:09:43 PM »
Which EFI system will you be using? I am very interested in your project. It sounds like it will fix two issues these bikes have. Ignition system and carburetors...

Offline greg737

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #16 on: November 26, 2013, 03:41:08 PM »
The ECU I'll be using is the Microsquirt by Bowling & Grippo.  About 5 years ago I did a similar fuel injection conversion on a 2005 Kawasaki EX250, which turned out great and has provided many miles of riding enjoyment over the last 4 years, so I've got a lot of prior experience (and mistakes) to build on with this project.

The big parts of my system will be: Microsquirt ECU, Honda TRX420/TRX500 fuel pump, Honda Grom fuel injectors (94 cc/min at 50 psi), Suzuki GSX-R600 (shorty) Coil-on-Plug sticks with a Yamaha YZF-R1 plugwire harness, DIYAutotune Quadspark four-channel ignition module, Innovate Motorsports LC-2 Wideband O2 sensor controller w/Bosch 5-wire sensor and standalone A/F ratio gauge.

Of course there are a bunch of other little details (FI and ignition systems "black magic" stuff) and a supporting cast of bits-and-pieces to deal with in this project, so that just amounts to a "broad brushstrokes" outline of it.

I'm on a bit of a work break from the project this month, lots of family time with relatives for Thanksgiving, but I plan on having this thing up and running by late spring/early summer.

Offline phoenix

• TURBO TYPER!
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2013, 06:46:51 PM »
Very cool project.  I've had MS on both of my Sciroccos for about 5 years now.  Can Microsquirt use a bluetooth adapter for programming via smartphone?  Do you have a stock ignition map or are you going to figure a new one by trial and error.