Author Topic: Help me identify this tripple tree top yoke.  (Read 3193 times)

Offline freddyb

• New user!
Help me identify this tripple tree top yoke.
« on: May 02, 2007, 12:43:51 PM »
Hello.  For starters, I'm pretty new to working on motorcycles so I might not use the correct terminology.  Feel free to correct me.

I'm hoping you folks can help me identify this upper yoke (or clamp or whatever it's called) from the tripple on a project bike that I'm working on.  I'd guess it's from a US model bandit 400 or GSX-R400 but I'm really not sure.

As you can see in the pic, the handlebar risers are halfway cut off.  The previous owner of the bike left the project in a pretty sad state and I guess he didn't get around to cutting them off all the way.  He was running a setup with clipons and I'd like to go back to regular old bars.  So, basically I need to identify the pictured part and replace it with one that hasn't been mangled.

The forks are the regular type (non-inverted) and the diameter is 41mm.  Based on the size of the bar risers, I'd guess they should accept a bar with a diameter of about 23mm.  The hole for the vertical part of the tripple is about 21 or 22mm according to my vernier calipers.

Is this an easy part to find?  If anyone has one available that they'd like to sell, I sure would appreciate it.  I suppose I'll also need the top clamps for the handlebar risers as well as some bars.  For the bars, I'm not too particular about the rise, sweep, etc.  If anyone has any of these available, let me know.

You can contact here or by email. soonerbh at gmail dot com.  Thanks!

Offline Banditmax

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 12:48:01 PM »
I have a top yoke like that but im in the uk if yo want it let me know and ill work out postage rates.

Offline freddyb

• New user!
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2007, 12:55:38 PM »
Hello Banditmax.  Thanks for the reply.  I sent you a PM.

Offline gsxr400 racer

• I find things for a small fee....