Author Topic: new guy, odd questions  (Read 4951 times)

Offline skr00zloose

• Board Regular!
new guy, odd questions
« on: January 29, 2007, 08:08:11 PM »
about to pick up a 91 b4, with a bad cdi (of course) just wondering if anyone has tried to fit another ignition to these bikes. something along the lines of a dyna2000 or something.

i don't have the bike in front of me as of yet, but from what i can see from the manuals, it looks as though there's a single ignition pickup. my main question i guess would be is, is there enough room under the engine cover to mount 2 pick-ups, there-by allowing a wider range of ignition choices.

i'd rather not shell out the cash for another stock cdi knowing that it could go at any moment, so i'm trying to figure out what can be done to cure this problem once and for all. i've been a motorcycle mechanic for about 11 years, and i've built MANY a custom bike using parts from all over. rigging up a custom ignition isn't beyond me by any means. curious to see if anyone has tried it before. i have a second hand dyna 2000 ignition left over from my old 7/12 streetfighter, so i figured it's worth a shot.

i only picked up the 400 because i always wanted one, and this one came along at the right time, as i'm in need of transportation while my 954 'fighter is apart getting cut into little pieces.

any and all comments are welcome.

also... comments and info on that big-bore piston kit would be nice too :D what kinda power is to be expected from that setup? i'd probably do some headwork and run dual intake cams while i had the motor apart, just planning ahead for when the 954 is done and it's the b4's turn to go under the knife. if i could squeeze 80 or so reliable hp out of the motor, i might just keep it. if not, i may wedge in a 600cc inline or something. motor swaps are my specialty, and i have alot of spare time, lol.

lets see, what else??