Author Topic: New to the Bandit world, shame the bike doesnt work..  (Read 11599 times)

Offline Nige

• Board Regular!
    • http://www.geocities.com/cyphizer
New to the Bandit world, shame the bike doesnt work..
« on: April 11, 2005, 12:19:37 PM »
Hi there, just went and purchased a '94 bandit 400, one of (very few i gather) the UK models. I'm fairly new to the general biking world, although my knowledge of electronics is pretty sound my mechanical know-how is boardering on Zilch to be brutally honest. Bought the bike hoping to learn alot about how to fix and maintain e.t.c. but it's proved to be a bit of a steep learning curve, here's why:

Well bought the bike from a private sale, guy seemed fairly nice and worked in a garage (good sign i thought). Checked the bike out, seemed pretty good, idled a but lumpy but after 30 mins it ran smoothly, had an MOT done 2 weeks before, £700, bargain!

Rode the bike for a week with no problems, cept for having to start it with the choke every time, was an absolute joy flicking it round the country roads. Heaven.

*problem 1, AAAARGH*
Heading down the A47 to the grand city of Norwich when the bike starts to lose power, bit scary with cars and lorries swerving round you at 80mph, coast to a Lay By (thank god it was there) and start to worry as it starts to chuck it down. Everything to my untrained eye looked ok, half a tank of fuel, no fuel line problems, but the bloody thing wouldnt turn over and start. Fret for about 20 mins, then all of a sudden it starts first time perfectly. Well i didnt wanna complain so I headed off home, a bit wary. Got home fine, except that it seemed to lag a bit on acceleration, taking up to 2 seconds to kick in.