Author Topic: Can you help me identify these carburetor parts?  (Read 2865 times)

Offline duane

• Board Homesteader!
Can you help me identify these carburetor parts?
« on: February 19, 2006, 01:53:34 AM »
These are the stock carbs off my 93 Bandit 400.  This is my first time digging into them and right now my knowledge is only rudimentary.  I know what and where the main parts are, like main jets, floats, needle valve etc, but there seems to be some big holes in my knowledge.  My tank has rusted pretty bad so I'm taking the carbs apart, cleaning them, and putting in a stage one jet kit from Factory Pro.

A & B.  What's the function of these passages?  When I squirt cleaner into them where should it come out?  Right now it just kind of sqirts back onto my hand and doesn't seem to go anywhere. Next thing to do, I guess, is to pass a piece wire through them?

Here are the bottom of the carbs, obviously the float bowls, floats, and main jets have been removed.  
C) The floats mechanism mated right up against this, and those three holes empty right into the venturi. In fact through one of them you can see the edge of the butterfly valve.  
D) I've taken apart carbs before but for the life of me I have not seen a part like this.  I'm curious as ever, what is it?
E) I thought this is where the pilot jet was, no?  All four came with rubber caps, as illustrated in the picture below.  
F) Stock main jets are 102.5, this is a used bike, it had a 105 main jets; obviously someone has been into it before.  (You can also tell by the fuel/air idle screw caps that have been removed.)  The Facroty Pro kit came with 95 and 97.5 jets, quiet a bit smaller than stock and even smaller than what the previous owner had.  I'm nervous about tuning this.

Are these needles stock?  Did someone get the order right when putting back the washers and spacers?  I'm not able to tell from the exploded view in the manual.

Thank you for any and all comments.  Wish me luck.

Offline gsxr400 racer