Author Topic: Regular Services  (Read 2429 times)

Offline lemining

• Board Regular!
Regular Services
« on: September 10, 2007, 06:28:51 PM »
Hey guys,

I tried searching this topic, but i had no luck of finding anything useful.

I got my bandit 250, and I don't know when was the last service and how the typical bike service looks like.

What is the service frequency? (every 1k km? every 2?)
What do i look for and what do i change?
a) I'm sure i change oil, but a while ago i was reading one of the articles on some website and i think someone was saying that you change oil filter every second or every third time you change oil. Sounds a bit strange, because in my car i change everything every time (oil + filters).

I have just replaced spark plugs (bike has done almost 30 thousand km).
What is the average chain life? Is there anything i should be looking at?

I'm just really new with bikes and i have plenty of time to sit in the garage and have a play around.

If anyone has any website or maybe book, that would be extremely useful.

Thanks!

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Regular Services
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2007, 09:21:42 PM »
Most car & bike makers recommend oil filter changes every other oil change. Most enthusiasts prefer to change the filter every time - figuring it is cheap insurance.

How often you change it varies on personal feelings and how the machine is used (just like a car). A common interval is every 2-3K miles (3-5K km).

Chain life will depend on the quality of the chain and how well it is maintained. A quality O or X-ring chain that's cleaned and lubed regularly will last >20K miles (30K km). With an add-on chain oiler, it's not uncommon for the chain to last >50K miles (>80K km).

I'll let the 250/400 experts weigh in on the frequency of valve lash inspection/adjustment.

Check fasteners for security.