Author Topic: B4 FRONT END SWAPS!  (Read 3622 times)

Offline Ban_bigman

• Board Regular!
B4 FRONT END SWAPS!
« on: August 18, 2005, 03:44:02 PM »
I have read alot of threads on here about the gsxr750 front end swaps and I have also seen some on the katana fronts so was wondering if one was any better than the other as far as easy done.  I am no mechanic and I will probably just have my front end redone and add the gsxr rear shock to mine.  I would like your thoughts and comments. Also haveing trouble with my brake light burns well but does not light up when brakes applied (front or rear).   :grin:  :thanks:

Offline Maniac

• Board Homesteader!
    • http://www.bikepics.com/members/plan9/93bandit400/
B4 FRONT END SWAPS!
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2005, 04:11:01 PM »
Sounds like you might want to check the electrical connections at the light, just remove the rear seat and look for anything thats loose. It could also be the bulb, there are two filements in the brake light, one for the running light and one for the brake light.  :grin:

Dunno if if the GSXR front end is better than the Katana, but I'm going to take a guess and say it is. The GSXR is a higher end bike, although both are better than the stock forks (The GSXR forks are USD, which look trick as all hell. Dunno about the Katana forks). The hardest thing with the GSXR Forks appears to be the steering stops, they are different and require a small amount of grinding to remove the old ones, and a little bit of welding to add new ones. Should be able to mark off where you want the new ones, take them to a local metal shop, and have them do it for you.

2008 GSXR-750

Offline Farre

• Board Homesteader!
B4 FRONT END SWAPS!
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2006, 06:26:26 AM »
I'm wondering..:
I've read the topic in the 250/400 FAQ and it surprised me a little that the front forks of a b6 are never mentioned.

Do they fit?
Alex
'91 B4 almost bone stock:
GK73 Inner forks& Springs
B6 Rear Shock

Offline PitterB4