Author Topic: newbie hoping for a little help w/ my 92- idle/carb problem?  (Read 3128 times)

Offline redpony_02

• First Post! Be Gentle!
newbie hoping for a little help w/ my 92- idle/carb problem?
« on: September 17, 2005, 02:22:09 PM »
I'm a newbie in about every way it counts around here, but I've got myself a 1992 Bandit 400, and I love it.  Unfortunately, it has a little trouble running- and I was hoping someone with a little more experience could point me in the right direction.

Basically, the engine tends to run pretty erratically, regardless of how long it has been running.  In neutral, it tends to idle correctly for a few moments but then falls very low and stalls out.  Revving the engine tends to either pick the idle back up to where it's supposed to be and make it run smoothly for a little while, or, more frequently, causes it to drop down very low and stall out.  If I keep giving it gas, I can usually keep the bike from stalling out, but the engine seems to be running roughly at a low RPM (could it be that some cylinders are not firing when its doing this?).  Does this sound familiar?

Couple other questions- what's the standard idle RPM on this bike?  Any good guides for general motorcycle repair that would be good for a beginner to start with?

Offline Herr Tod

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2005, 06:08:40 PM »
You can adjust the idle RPM with the adjustment screw on the left beneath the carbs. Turn it to the right until the engine keeps running without having to use the throttle. Then turn the engine off, let the exhaust pipes cool down and start the engine again. Check that each cylinder's exhaust pipe gets hot. If one does not get hot then that cylinder is not running. Standard RPM should be 1300 - 1400.

Offline Maniac

• Board Homesteader!
    • http://www.bikepics.com/members/plan9/93bandit400/
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2005, 07:34:44 PM »