Author Topic: carbs and petcock  (Read 3720 times)

Offline fireburster

• Board Homesteader!
carbs and petcock
« on: November 09, 2009, 12:13:22 PM »
So my 93 b4 doesn't idle without choke. I bought some fuel cleaner from a shop here and they said to ride it around. I went for a ride thinking i had plenty of gas. I ran out and the petcock doesnt seem to work. I switched over but it wouldnt fire. Had a buddy bring me some gas and i had to pop it because my battery was dead from trying to start it to much. Should i take it off and clean it or any other ideas? Im pretty sure its hooked up right. I have the long straight tube on the gas tank going to coolant run off, i think thats right.

Also im thinking of building the carb tool but Im new at this. Could someone who has done this on a b4 explain it like im a 4 year old? I found that i need 1/4 tubing and i think i see where it hooks on the carb. But the manuals pic of the screw to turn isnt very helpful. Anyone got a pic? I think i will just do the 2 carb way as im not sure how to make a 4 one.

Also i changed my rad coolant since there wasnt almost none in there. I got it full but i still dont have any extra in my res that you check the full line on. Could i have a vacum issue or something. I filled it up with the proper amount of coolant just the res tank is empty.

Sorry this is a lot of questions in one thread.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2009, 12:29:00 PM by fireburster »

Offline mosquito

• Board Homesteader!
Re: carbs and petcock
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 06:30:30 PM »
There's a catch-22 with the petcock: The engine has to be running for the valve in the petcock to open.  If you run it out of gas then you can't start it get the fuel to flow into the carbs to start it.  The workarounds are to

- remove the screw on the face of the petcock and turn the petcock lever to 12 o'clock (ON is 6 o'clock, RES is 9 o'clock) or
- pour fuel into the carbs via the fuel line (half a pint or so should do) or