Author Topic: Voltage drops as Engine speed increases  (Read 5371 times)

Offline SubieHo

• New user!
Voltage drops as Engine speed increases
« on: August 13, 2008, 12:05:10 AM »
Hi there,

Newbie here.

I just replaced a 7-year old battery and checked my charging system, and found something pretty curious.  At idle, I was getting a DC voltage reading of 13.5.  The curious part is that the voltage would drop as engine speed increased -- around 12.8V at 5K rpm.  This doesn't seem right, and I was wondering of those on this forum had any ideas?

Generator output is good at around 80-90 AC volts. 

I should add that this bike has been rarely ridden and hooked up to a battery tender inside a friend's garage for the past 3 years.  I've had it out for about 3 weeks now, except it wouldn't start after a ride of about 60 miles.  I pushed started it and it ran fine, but would not crank over even after riding it for another 60 miles. 

I searched around and downloaded that handy flow chart but am hoping it was just the old battery.

Offline Bartjan

• Board Homesteader!
Re: Voltage drops as Engine speed increases
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 05:29:46 AM »
Voltage seems fine to me.
Remember that when the rev goes up it needs more sparks and thus uses more energy, nothing to worry about  :grin:
1991 US Bandit 400

Offline SubieHo

• New user!
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 10:40:16 AM »
Yes, I'm hoping that it's just the battery, but the the factory manual says that voltage should be between 13.5 & 15.5 volts at 5K rpm.  At least I know it's not overcharging.

BTW, this is a '92 B4 with 21K miles (33.6K kms. for everyone else) on the odometer. 

Offline Banditmax

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 01:38:27 PM »
It maybe your in need of a new reg rec.

Offline gsxr400 racer

• I find things for a small fee....
  • Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
    • For all your disc golf needs...maybe i can race again someday.lol