Author Topic: Engine sounds - possible problem?  (Read 3890 times)

Offline rooster

• Board Regular!
Engine sounds - possible problem?
« on: March 08, 2012, 05:27:33 PM »
Hi all,

I've been riding my '92 B250 for about two years now, regularly serviced every 5,000km with no major issues and no engine problems whatsoever (all issues have been carb or tiny electrical problems).

The engine seems to be making two sounds that make me slightly concerned though.

1st is what seems to be a clutch sound. The bike has been doing this for about a year though, mechanic either hasn't noticed or it's a non-issue. When the bike is in neutral there's a low sort of rumble from behind the clutch cover. It disappears when you pull the clutch in. Only heard at idle when the bike is stationary. No clutch slipping or any clutch problems when riding though.

2nd is a little more worrying, just cropped up last few days. When idling at a stop I can hear a very faint ticking sound. It comes and goes, when it is making the sound it's irregular, like a sort of "tick tick.....tick tick tick....tick......tick tick". It sounds like it's coming from around the head or cam cover. Is that the sound of a dicky timing chain?

The only engine adjustments that have been done were valve adjustments approximately 8,000km ago.

Offline Squishy

• Board Homesteader!
Re: Engine sounds - possible problem?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 04:00:01 AM »
2) It disappears when you rev it? Could be camchain

Offline Chris H

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 02:18:54 PM »
Would be worth re checking the valve clearances to see if it clears up.
If the clutch is loud enough to be of worry you may have wear in the bearing or a the nut that holds the basket on could be slightly loose. Both of these clutch issues can be checked with the engine in the frame so not too bad.

Offline rider123

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, 10:33:24 PM »