Author Topic: Will be getting a Bandit 400  (Read 3724 times)

Offline Costarica

• New user!
Will be getting a Bandit 400
« on: April 12, 2012, 11:40:01 AM »
Hey guys

My name is Costi, age 24, and I'm currently in the process of getting my license for motorcycles and for a couple of weeks now I've been looking all over the place to see what bike would fit me best. After many many hours of online searching I finally decided on a Bandit 400 which I think it looks stunning for its age and price and sounds like a good starting bike too. Once I made my mind that I'd get a Bandit I started looking for info about it and that's how I got to your forum, which btw has a ton of good and useful info which will take me a long time to go through it all but it's worth it.
Reason why I went for a Bandit is because I have a weakness for naked bikes and because I'm total beginner I doubt I could handle very well a more powerful bike and also I'm rather short hehe, I'm only 5.3 feet tall. Speaking of, I'm curious if you guys know if a person as short as me would reach the ground with both feet because that's kind of important for me :)  
It will be a couple of months till I buy it and I'm the kind of guy who keeps for a very long time whatever I may buy, making it to fit my style, and right now I'm searching for info on the Bandit for some modifications because I want to be prepared to start modifying it as soon as I get it. I will be keeping this bike for many years to come and I was hoping you guys could help me with some suggestions for the modifications I have in mind. Here's a preliminary list of things which I think would make it look a bit more modern:

- matte black paint for the entire bike
- lower the seat height (to reach the ground with both feet; do you advise doing this ?)
- new handlebars, supersport style
- bar end mirrors (not sure about these, will they break easily if the bike falls on its side ?)
- more modern headlight and turn signals