Author Topic: VIN number vs. engine spec... who has info?  (Read 11389 times)

Offline Nick V

• TURBO TYPER!
VIN number vs. engine spec... who has info?
« on: February 08, 2010, 06:47:06 PM »
Driven by curiosity, I just had a rummage through old contracts-of-sale for all vehicles I've sold in the past.
Looking at the numbers, the VC Bandit I previously owned was a GK75A (engine number prefix K707).
I was always under the impression that it was a 1992 year-model, but now I'm not sure... can anyone shed light on this? (It's not of earth-shattering importance, just a minor curiosity.)
Was this one of the earlier-spec VC engines, with variable valve timing on the inlet cam only?

I'm still learning my way around the site, and there's a huge amount of content I haven't read yet. Is there a sticky or something anywhere here that lists Bandit 400 engine types (and/or year model) by GK series number?
When I buy my next Bandit, it would help hugely in identifying 'at-a-glance' exactly what I'm looking at.

Also, I hear that the newest Bandits finding their way onto the grey market have minor spec changes like a fuel gauge, aluminium swingarm and some cosmetic restyling - but that the variable valves have been dropped in a return to a 'conventional' head.
Is all this true?

Offline Chris H

• Board Homesteader!
Re: VIN number vs. engine spec... who has info?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 07:00:22 PM »
Nick if you had Vc on the inlet it would be a second gen engine. The first gen like my M model has Vc on the inlet and exhaust. The exhaust  Vc was dropped as it makes less difference to the power than the inlet and the service costs were crazy.

Offline pmackie

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 08:18:18 PM »
Hey Nick V

It may not help a whole bunch fro you in SA, but there is a bunch of data being collected in the "Wiki" section. Have a look and see if that helps.

Paul
2002-GSF600S, Progressive Fork Springs, B12 Shock,