Author Topic: wondering about reliability  (Read 5660 times)

Offline KSUGreggy

• Board Homesteader!
wondering about reliability
« on: August 31, 2005, 11:23:00 AM »
hey im new to the board and i was recommened by a guy who is selling the bike im looking at buying this weekend....before i buy i was just curious about the reliability of the bikes and general costs for it as im a college student with not too much money...any helpful hints you could give a beginner rider about this bike would be appreciate too thanks.

Offline jcmjrt

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2005, 12:03:34 PM »
I bought my bike in a non-running status and fixed it. Since then the only thing that I've fixed are the front and rear master cylinder which I rebuilt. Pretty easy stuff if you have a few tools and are a little mechanically inclined. If you don't and aren't, then the cost to repair can be fairly high. Other people have had to sort out quite a few problems. You'll need to change oil and oil filter every 3 thousand miles. If you can do the oil change, it's a few dollars. If you can't then it's pretty expensive at the moto shop. I change brake fluid annually.
Since you are buying it locally, you could have a moto shop look it over before purchase for any repairs/upkeep that need to be done. I don't know what it will cost you to do that but I do know that surprises can be very expensive. You can use the info for bargaining if repairs are needed. Don't buy the bike unless you have the money for the safety gear - helmet, jacket, boots, gloves. Don't forget to check with your insurance to find out how much that will cost.

Offline PeteSC

• Board Homesteader!
    • SouthChinaLady
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2005, 12:27:32 PM »
The bandit 400 is a wonderful bike, but parts are kind of hard to find.
 Unless you're real mechanically inclined, I'm reluctant to recommend one as 'cheap' trransportation.