Author Topic: Chain adjust  (Read 3495 times)

Offline ttewejnodnarb

• Board Homesteader!
Chain adjust
« on: February 23, 2006, 02:05:55 PM »
I am new at wrenching but have been finding alot of success using tips here along with my Haynes manual.  I have a stupid question.  I've been trying to fix a thruming felt in my pegs that I have attributed to mal-adjusted and/or misalighned cain.  It may even be one or two of the links sticking.  I cleaned the bike the other day and tried to loosen the chain to where I could wiggle each link.  Here are the problems I encountered.

1) Loosening the rear axel nut (taking off) and screwing the adjusters all the way in does not free the rear wheel to move back and forth.  Do I just need to unbolt the rear break caliper torque arm and remove the rear caliper?  As a point of interest the previou owner installed blue anodized adjuster shims (for lack of the correct term) that seem to hang up a little but don't impead adjustment with the adjuster screws as far as I can tell.

2) When I adjust the chain as indicated in the Manual, with the bike on the sidestand not the center stand, then re-torque the rear axel nut the chain is always much tighter than where I adjusted it.

I guess I'm asking if there is any trick to adjusting the chain or is that just the way it is and does anyone think the aftermarket "shims" are impeading rear wheel travel back and forth when the axel nut is loosened or off.  I'm having a hell of a time trying to adjust the slack AND make sure it is aligned right at the same time. :duh:
Brandon
98 B12S

Offline txbanditrydr

• Administrator
  • Board Homesteader!
Re: Chain adjust
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2006, 04:14:06 PM »
Quote from: "ttewejnodnarb"
1) Loosening the rear axle nut (taking off) and screwing the adjusters all the way in does not free the rear wheel to move back and forth.