Author Topic: 2001 b1200 performance expectations  (Read 3497 times)

Offline pauly62

• Board Regular!
2001 b1200 performance expectations
« on: March 18, 2010, 02:04:34 PM »
hey everybody. bbs newbie here ;-)
i bought a 2001 b1200 w 8000 miles on it last year. it was a theft recovery so was in disrepair and needed some work.
there was a full hindle 20" system on it and had not even been rejetted.
i ordered a jet kit from holeshot with an ignition advancer,pair mod and dual k&n filters.
after having screwed around with it for a while have 155 mains and the needles all the way up.
i wanted to get someone elses opinion about what my expectations about its performance should be.
it seems to wind up pretty well with the tire coming up in first gear.
there arent any flat spots or stumbling anywhere or even roll on in 5th.
but it doesnt seem to be exactly right to me... i had to go up to bigger main jets than came with dales kit came with
and raise the needles all the way up to get it to run where it is right now.
does anyone get a wheelie winding up in second or have any opinion about what i have my carb tuning settings on?
the paint job on it was horrible so i sent it out for a black cherry paint job.
ive posted a pic of it here for everyone.
im so happy i got it back together and its finally over 50 degrees in chicago !!

Offline mwheat308

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
Re: 2001 b1200 performance expectations
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 07:42:59 PM »
 :welcome:
Sorry I can't help with the info, mine is stock.  Just wanted to say Welcome and Nice Bike.
There are some great mechs here and I'm sure that one will chime in.

Mike
Gun CONTROL is hitting the target the FIRST time!

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 11:02:32 AM »