Author Topic: ignition advancers  (Read 4509 times)

Offline alhuggy

• Board Regular!
ignition advancers
« on: May 21, 2006, 01:17:35 PM »
are advancers worth it, if so do I go for the 3 degree or the 5 degree advancer?

my bike has a flat spot at 2 thou rpm and the the carbs have been balanced and plugs are the right colour. ( so I`m told are set up right ) I have a dyno jet stage one with K & N filter and micron exhaust. my mate swears by his but which one would be better? :clubme:
alhuggy

Offline tacoman

• Board Homesteader!
advancer
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2006, 02:12:06 PM »
I think for the cost they're well worth it.  Anytime you can get a power increase for $50, thats cheap.  i have a 5 degree on my B6.  I did all my mods at once (jet kit, advancer, exhaust) so I don't know what each one did individually.  It should take out that flat spot a 2k rpm.  Plus, they're real easy to install.

Offline Desolation Angel

• Board Homesteader!
ignition advancers
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2006, 02:23:29 PM »
Can you just put them on without any other changes to anything?

Offline alhuggy

• Board Regular!
ignition advancers
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2006, 03:32:10 PM »
I have ordered 5 degree advancer will let you know how it goes :motorsmile:

and yes 5 allen bolts and one on the advancer, total of about 10 minutes to change!!
alhuggy

Offline alhuggy

• Board Regular!
ignition advancers
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2006, 02:16:14 PM »
best £49 pounds I`ve ever spent
pulls brilliantly
ticks over smoother
even better mpg
now getting 40 - 45 mpg
beats zx9r`s from the lights with ease
5 minute fitting time tops!!!
alhuggy

Offline SHREDDER

• Board Homesteader!
ignition advancers
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2006, 06:15:02 AM »
Go with the 5 degree.  It will be so much more responsive.
Ride on!

Offline edge of midnight

• New user!
ignition advancers
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2006, 08:25:03 PM »