Author Topic: required chain replacement tools  (Read 6435 times)

Offline lucas

• Board Homesteader!
required chain replacement tools
« on: June 09, 2006, 12:46:45 PM »
Hi,

I think I am going to try replacing my chain on my 2005 1200s bandit. I have never done this before and I would like to know before hand what all I will need.

So obviously I will need the chain. But what tools will I need to do the job with? A dremel? A chain breaker kit? Just a chain breaker? Just a dremel? Both? All of the above and more? :wtf:

Can anyone recommend a kit that I can use to do the entire job of breaking the chain and then riviting a new link to make the chain endless?

I did search all the posts and I can't get a good handle on everything I'll need.

Thanks

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2006, 12:56:02 PM »
You'll need something to cut/break the old chain off (unless you want to remove the swingarm). I have air tools, so I use a cutoff wheel in a die grinder and just cut the chain.

You'll need a rivet tool unless you use a clip style master link or one of those fancy new master links with the tiny little nuts.
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline lucas

• Board Homesteader!
clip style master link or one of those fancy new master link
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2006, 01:18:43 PM »
OK

I was not aware that there was another option other than an endless chain.

Have you or anyone out there used a clip style master link or one of those fancy new master links with the tiny little nuts?

So to get the chain off all I need is a chain breaker? And then I could use a clip style master link with tiny little nuts to avoid riveting a new link?