Author Topic: Tomahawk Re-BUILT Tires  (Read 3441 times)

Offline Stevie B

• Board Regular!
Tomahawk Re-BUILT Tires
« on: August 11, 2005, 10:27:01 AM »
I have a set of these on my B-12. Seen them discussed on other forums, but not here, yet.  I must admit I have limited experience to draw on, previous bikes (going back in time were  Virago 750, Suzuki 550, Yamaha Maxim 700 -wanted to put drag bars on that one and pretend it was a sport bike...) and didnt really experiment with tires on any of them.  Previous tires on B12 were  stocks, whatever they were.  

I like the tomahawks, overall.  Price is real draw.  That they can be had in colors is cool (although I chickened out and got black).  I've read disses of them, but I felt like the rear felt the same as the stockers(what WERE those tires?) and the front corners fine, although I think I have noticed that the front tire seems to slide earlier on braking.  Wear is good, too, so far, but too early to tell for sure so I won't put any mileage figures here yet.  I did get the touring tires, next time I think I will go with the softer sport tires, and maybe get bold and go with red.
Steve Boudreaux
98 Bandit 1200S
99 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic
2005 Novara Triompho (yes, a bicycle!)
Atlanta, GA

Offline jwalters

• Board Homesteader!
    • http://genome.uiowa.edu/~jwalters
Tomahawk Re-BUILT Tires
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 01:16:49 PM »
Hi Steve, I was looking into the Tomahawk tires some time ago and posted a message about them on the old BanditAlley (before it went on vacation).  I like the color options, I think it really makes a bike look unique.  From what I've observed from others, either you like the colors, or you hate the colored tires... (i'm getting off topic)