Author Topic: Noob Looking for a 600 (longish)  (Read 3931 times)

Offline Brianjonesphoto

• New user!
Noob Looking for a 600 (longish)
« on: August 07, 2006, 04:10:07 AM »
I'm a total noob and starting to look for a bike. The Bandit is one of the few bikes that I can sit on comfortably. I'm 27 6'6"300# with a  35" inseam.

It's been a while since I've sat on a B6 and there aren't many around that I can go to a dealer and take a sit. There is a dealer with a couple B12 that I plan on visiting tomorrow. How does the b12 differ from the b6 as far as fit goes?

I don't really know too much about the bikes. I've read through the FAQs and that answered alot of questions. I looks like the B6 is a pretty solid bike across the board. Are there any years in particular I should look for or avoid? What are the major differences between gen1 and gen 2 other than appearance?

I've been searching online forums for a while now and I've been told the B6 isn't a great first bike and I've been told is a pretty good first bike. I know you guys are a little biased but what's your thoughts on a B6 for a first bike? Is it too mcuh bike are too throttle sensative for a first timer?

I'm also trying to stay within a budget of about $2K do you think I will find a decent B6 in this range? I'm not looking for a bike in perfect cosmetic shape, but I want something that is a solid runner.

I've read a few posts about replacing the rear shock. with my weight should this be something I consider right off the bat? I'm 300# without riding gear.

Thanks

Offline tacoman

• Board Homesteader!
B6
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2006, 01:29:57 PM »