Author Topic: B4 - Not firing on all 4 :-(  (Read 3615 times)

Offline D7

• New user!
B4 - Not firing on all 4 :-(
« on: July 11, 2005, 06:47:44 PM »
Hi - Can anyone help, as my poor b4 is not happy?

Firstly I'm no mechanic (but I try), and secondly I have read loads of the other threads with some very similar, but here's my story.

During the winter (Jan/Feb) when it was cold and wet, the bike started running and sounding like a twin. It seemed #4 pipe was cold/warm not hot like the others. I changed the plugs, Oil, Oil Filter, Air Filter, and put some of that Carb Cleaner/ De-carb Icing stuff in the petrol tank. I also noticed when changing the plugs that the plug caps came apart from the lead. Actually #3 & #4 leads fell apart, so not being not sure if that was supposed to happen I cleaned (the sulphur)out and pushed them back in as tight as I could.

After all this the bike kinda ran better, then didn't, then it was fine again, and has been fine since(ish). It's only been now and again (once a fortnight) that it's played up, but went away again ... until now.

Then to my horror, I came out one morning last week and found petrol pissing out of a tiny rust/ paint chip hole, but leaking badly. Don't know quite how that happened but suspect it's been weeping for a few weeks, just haven't spotted it, but there had been a strange stain in that area, so that kinda makes sense. (Q1, could fuel have leaked onto the left coil and damaged it ?) Anyway, a new (2nd hand) tank later and we're in business.(ish)