Author Topic: Re: my GSF400P problems  (Read 7737 times)

Offline banditopocket

• New user!
Re: my GSF400P problems
« on: January 10, 2016, 05:02:15 AM »
Hello,

I just got my bandit at $3000 dollars.

its $$&%$#@ing expensive here but I love it.

The problem is:

When I turn on my signals, all of the other light(Brake light, headlight, neutral light) flashes with it. any idea whats the issue? I went to the mechanic and he said that it was supposed to be like that.  :duh:

I seem to have problems taking my B400 for long distance rides. It always die on me after 20 minutes of riding after which it just dies then i would crank the engine and it just wouldn't start. The mechanic says it's an issue of the fuel tap so i swapped it costing me $150 %$#^@#ing bucks and it still occurs. He recommends that i change my fuel cap now. Any idea if the fuel cap have any other function than to keep fuel in? The previous owner painted the fuel cap.

I am really new to such bikes and any help will be much appreciated !

Offline Squishy

• Board Homesteader!
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 05:28:53 AM »
Congrats on the b400!

.. But I have to ask.. $3000? Unless it was in mint condition with 10000kms max.. I don't see how?
Over here they go for $500-$1000.

Anyway. The cap can cause issues when the small vent hole gets clogged. Your carbs will eventually (like after 20min) suck the tank into a 'vacuum' and it won't be able to get any more fuel from the tank. You can simply test this by going for a ride with the cap slightly open.

I don't see why he would recommend to replace the cap though. You just have to clean it.
Same goes for the fuel tap. Why would he tell you to replace it for $150 without diagnosing whether that's the problem?
It's pretty easy to test whether the fuel tap/petcock functions properly.