Author Topic: Best Oil?  (Read 32757 times)

Offline ShadowWolf

• TURBO TYPER!
Best Oil?
« on: March 24, 2005, 01:22:49 AM »
Choosing and sticking with an oil for my bike is becoming a daunting task. Everywhere I read it's a debate between synthetic and petroleum based. I'm new to motorcycles and just got my first bike(96' B6) and I will be doing my own oil changes so I would like to know what's the best oil to use? I heard some things about clutches slipping if you use a certain type of synthetic.

Drop some names fellas.....it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
" A man steals from me, I cut off his hand. If he lies to me, I cut out his tongue. If he stands up against me, I cut off his head, stick it on a pike and lift it up for all to see." -Bill The Butcher

Offline B12MoJo

• Board Regular!
Best Oil?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2005, 02:06:37 AM »
Shell Rotella 15W40 non synthetic

Got 40K on this with Emgo filters on my TL no problems.  Nearly 10K of this on the bandit no problems.

Offline Red01

• Board Homesteader!
  • Are we having fun yet?
Best Oil?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2005, 02:35:27 AM »
The proverbial can of worms...  :duh:

Oh well, we haven't had this question in a while, so I guess we're overdue.

The following is my person opinion.

Synth isn't worth it if you're not trying to extend drain intervals.
Motorcycle specific oils are hype.
Auto oils are fine as long as you stay away from "EC" (Energy Conserving) labeled oils. Luckily, few 10w40 or heavier oils are.
Diesel rated oils are great and stand the shear loads encountered in the gearbox.
Paul
2001 GSF1200S
(04/2001-03/2012)
2010 Concours 14ABS
(07/2010-current)

Offline Slider

• Board Homesteader!
Best Oil?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2005, 02:38:36 AM »