Author Topic: Poll: SW Motech Alu Rack on the 1250  (Read 7471 times)

Offline SteelD

• Site Supporters
  • Board Homesteader!
    • Route 66 in 2010
Poll: SW Motech Alu Rack on the 1250
« on: May 28, 2008, 06:19:19 AM »
I have the Suzuki OEM rack with the Suzuki top case and back rest. I like the rack because the side rails make great grab bars for the passenger. The downside is that the case is too close to the seat and with the back rest fitted, only the front half of the passenger seat is usable.

So, I am considering other options. I am no engineer so am not able to make an adaptor plate. I want an off-the-shelf solution. I looked at the Givi rack. This is likely to give more room but the side rails are low-down (designed for best fit with the side cases which I don't want) and the box itself is mounted quite high.

By far, the neatest solution is the SW Motech Alu Rack which puts the box back a little more but, unfortunately, lacks any side rails - my wife will have to resort to the stock grab rail that I can re-install once I take the OEM rack off. However, I have read reports of users complaining of failures (cracks in welds of rear subframe) using this. I am trying to establish the cause of this to determine whether it is a design failure or an overloading issue. As I see it, all the racks use the rear grab rail mounting points and since all the boxes mount to the rear of this, all the racks and top cases put their weight at this point. The solutions where a rack also bolts onto the rear footpeg mount cannot get much support at this point as it is so far forward from the centre of gravity of the rack and case. I suspect that this mounting point is only really effective for side case solutions.